The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
Shawnee State University
Academics Future Students Current Students Faculty/Staff Alumni/Friends Parents
    Shawnee State University
  Sep 22, 2017
2014-2015 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Affiliated Organizations

Ohio Appalachian Center for Higher Education

Located on the Shawnee State campus, the Ohio Appalachian Center for Higher Education (OACHE) is a consortium of the eleven public colleges and universities within the 32-county Ohio Appalachian region. The mission of OACHE is to increase the level of educational attainment of residents by sponsoring access projects in the region.

OACHE collaborates with state and federal governments, higher education institutions, public school districts, and businesses to increase the college-going rate throughout this high poverty region.

In addition to Shawnee State University, consortium members include Belmont Technical College; Hocking Technical College; Eastern Gateway Community College; Kent State University at East Liverpool, New Philadelphia, and Salem; Ohio University; Rio Grande Community College; Southern State Community College; Washington State Community College; Zane State College; and Central Ohio Technical College-Coshocton Campus. The Board of Directors consists of a representative from the Ohio Board of Regents and the presidents and deans of member institutions.

For more information, visit

Ohio Appalachian Educational Opportunity Center

The Ohio Appalachian Educational Opportunity Center (EOC) is a federal TRIO program, funded by the U. S. Department of Education. The EOC is housed on Shawnee State’s campus, is sponsored by the Ohio Appalachian Center for Higher Education, and operates throughout the 32-county Ohio Appalachian region.

The EOC is a comprehensive counseling and referral program, providing FREE academic, vocational, career, and financial aid information to eligible adults.

EOC outreach coordinators are located on the campuses of Belmont Technical College, Eastern Gateway Community College, Ohio University - Chillicothe, Ohio University - Southern, Pike County ABLE, Rio Grande Community College, Shawnee State University, Southern State Community College,  and Zane State College.