Sep 27, 2021  
2007-2009 Catalog 
2007-2009 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Affiliated Organizations

Ohio Appalachian Center for Higher Education

Located on the Shawnee State campus, the Ohio Appalachian Center for Higher Education (OACHE) is a consortium of the ten public colleges and universities within the 29-county Ohio Appalachian region. The mission of OACHE is to increase the level of educational attainment of residents by sponsoring access projects in member institutions and in public school districts.

OACHE operates with funds provided by the Ohio General Assembly through the Ohio Board of Regents. It combines the efforts of state government, higher education institutions, public school districts, and businesses to increase the college-going rate throughout this high poverty region.

In addition to Shawnee State University, consortium members include Belmont Technical College; Hocking Technical College; Jefferson Community College; Kent State University at East Liverpool, New Philadelphia, and Salem; Ohio University; Rio Grande Community College; Southern State Community College; Washington State Community College; and Zane State College. The Board of Directors consists of a representative from the Ohio Board of Regents and the presidents of member institutions.

For more information, call 740.351.3289.

Ohio Appalachian Educational Opportunity Center

The Ohio Appalachian Educational Opportunity Center (EOC) is a federal TRIO program, funded by the U. S. Department of Education. The EOC is housed on Shawnee State’s campus, is sponsored by the Ohio Appalachian Center for Higher Education, and operates throughout the 29-county Ohio Appalachian region.

The EOC is a comprehensive counseling and referral program, providing FREE academic, vocational, career, and financial aid information to eligible adults.

EOC outreach coordinators are located on the campuses of Belmont Technical College, Jefferson Community College, Kent State University - East Liverpool, Kent State University - Tuscarawas, Ohio University - Chillicothe, Rio Grande Community College, Southern State Community College, Washington State Community College, and Zane State College.